Tag Archives: Book of Satyajit Ray

Joi Baba Felunath

Joi Baba Felunath (The Elephant God) is a 1978 film by Bengali director Satyajit Ray, featuring the actors Soumitra Chatterjee, Santosh Dutta, Siddartha Chatterjee, Utpal Dutt among others.

The film is based on the famous Feluda novel of the same name by Satyajit Ray himself.


Feluda played by Soumitra, the sharp and witty detective from Calcutta, his cousin Topshe and friend Lalmohan Ganguly played by Santosh Dutta visits Benaras (Varanasi), a town on the banks of Ganges. In Benaras they meet a Bengali family. On coming to know that Feluda is a famous detective the head of this family invites him to his place and tells him about theft of an idol of Ganesha, the elephant God.

This idol is made of pure gold and is a prized possession of the family and is supposed to bring good luck to the family. “Maganlal Meghraj” (enacted by Utpal Dutt) a wealthy businessman from Benaras has had his eyes set on the idol. Feluda promises to help the family in finding the idol. Meanwhile, the sculptor who was sculpting the Durga idol for the Durga Puja festival is murdered and the mystery deepens. Feluda uses his brilliant detective skills to unravel the mystery and bring the culprits to the book.

The story has two sub plots. On the one hand, it is the story of the acquisitive instinct of a greed Marwari businessman, who would spare no expenses to get what he desires, even at the cost of murdering some innocents and bribing the willing. On the other, it is also the tale of cautionary foresight exercised by the family head. The sights and sounds and the brilliant cinematography and photographic imagery takes the nostalgic viewer to a lost world of the innocence, the beauty and the freshness of a north Indian town, that is at once, far from the madding corruptibility of big cities. Subaltern texts like the caste and the communal divide do make their presence felt, but they exist as subplots, that further enrich the viewer’s understanding.

Tagged , , , , ,

Satyajit Ray – Book Vs Comics

Tagged ,


Satyajit Ray wrote thirty-five Feluda stories, most of which were extremely popular among Bengali children as well as adults.

Some of the stories were published in hard-cover editions, while some stories were published as a collection with other new stories. Some stories also appeared in the short story collections of Ray, which characteristically used to contain 12 short stories, including a few featuring Feluda.

Every year a new Feluda adventure appeared in the special Autumn edition or Durgapujar edition of the Bengali periodical – Desh, and also in Sandesh.

Lately, a series of Feluda collections have also been published, containing several stories in a single title. Most recently Feluda titles have been accumulated under Feluda Shamagra.

Following is a list of hard cover edition books with some details:


Name in English


Badshahi Angti

The Emperor’s Ring

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1969. Sandesh, 1966

Gangtokey Gandagol

Trouble in Gangtok

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1971. Desh, Autumn Special, 1970

Sonar Kella

The Golden Fortress

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1971. Desh, Autumn Special, 1971

Baksho Rahashya

A Mysterious Case/ The Mystery of the Kalka Mail

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1973. Desh, Autumn Special, 1972

Kailashey Kelenkari

A Killer in Kailash

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1974. Desh, Autumn Special, 1973

Royal Bengal Rahashya

The Royal Bengal Mystery

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1975. Desh, Autumn Special, 1974

Joi Baba Felunath

The Mystery of the Elephant God

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1976. Desh, Autumn Special 1975

Feluda and Co. – Collection Containing :
Bombaiyer Bombete
Gosainpur Sargaram

Feluda and Co.
The Buccaneers of Bombay
The Mystery of the Walking Dead

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1976. Desh, Autumn Special 1976

Gorosthaney Sabdhan

Trouble in the Graveyard

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1979. Desh, Autumn Special, 1977

Chhinnamastar Abhishap

The Curse of the Goddess

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1981. Desh, Autumn Special 1978


The House of Death

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1981. Desh, Autumn Special 1979

Jato Kando Kathmandutey

The Criminals of Kathmandu

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1982. Desh, Autumn Special, 1980

Tintorettor Jishu

Tintoretto’s Jesus

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1983 Desh, Autumn Special 1982

Feluda One Feluda Two – Collection Containing :
Ebar Kando Kedarnathey
Napoleon er Chithhi

Feluda One Feluda Two
Crime in Kedarnath
Napoleon’s Letter

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1985. Sandesh, 1981; Desh, Autumn Special 1984

Darjeeling Jamjamat

Danger in Darjeeling

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1987. Desh, Autumn Special 1986

Double Feluda – Collection Containing :
Apsara Theatre er Mamla
Bhuswarga Bhayankar

Double Feluda
The Case of the Apsara Theatre
Peril in Paradise’

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1989. Sandesh, Autumn Special 1987; Desh, Autumn Special 1987

Nayan Rahashya

The Mystery of Nayan

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1991. Desh, Autumn Special 1990

Feluda Plus Feluda – Collection Containing :
Golapi Mukta Rahashya
London ey Feluda

Feluda Plus Feluda
The Mystery of the Pink Pearl
Feluda in London

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1992. Sandesh, Autumn Special 1989); Desh, Autumn Special 1989

Robertson er Ruby

Robertson’s Ruby

Ananda Publishers, Calcutta 1994, Desh, Autumn Special 1992

Feluda’s books have also been translated into English and have been published by Penguin Books.

Feluda Stories

In addition to the above, Ray also wrote some shorter stories on Feluda which have been included in many of his short story collections. These include:

· Feludar Goendagiri (Danger in Darjeeling)

· Bhusarga Bhayankar (Terror in Heaven)

· Bombaier Bombete (The Bandits of Bombay)

· Londone Feluda (Feluda in London)

· Nepolioner Chithi (Napoleon’s Letter)

· Kailash Choudharyr Pathar (Kailash Chowdhury’s Jewel)

· Ghurghutiyar Ghatana (The Locked Chest)

· Golapi Mukta Rahasya (The Mystery of the Purple Stone)

· Samaddarer Chabi (The Key)

· Sheyal Debota Rahasya (The Anubis Mystery)

· Ambar Sen Antardhyan Rahasya (The Disappearance of Ambar Sen)

· Jahangirer Swarnamudra (The Gold Coins of Jehangir)

· Golokdham Rahasya(Mystery at Golok Lodge)

· Bosepukure Khunkharapi (The Acharya Murder Case)

· Shakuntalar Kanthahar (Shakuntala’s Necklace)

· Indrajal Rahasya (The Magical Mystery)

· Dr Munshir Diary (Dr Munshi’s Diary}

· Apsara Theatre-er Mamla

Apart from these a number of unfinished Feluda stories have also been published in various collection of stories of Satyajit Ray.

Tagged ,